Parchment, black and white symbols and newbie problems

I'm quite new to CC3 and feel like I'm bashing my head against a brick wall because I'm missing something obvious.

I've started by creating a simple map using the Black & White fantasy overland map (from the 2017 annual). Now I'm trying to use Sue's Parchments (also from the 2017 annual) to add a parchment effect behind it.

I'm having the issue that some symbols/layers/sheets still have a white background rather than seeing through to the parchment layer I've added.

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    Hello Woz :)

If you move the parchment sheet above everything and add a Blend Mode sheet effect to the sheet the parchment is on, then set it to Multiply mode, the white in the symbols will disappear.

This may give you a heart attack when you next open the file (unless you have CC3+ set up to open with the sheet effects turned on), because you won't be able to see the rest of the map for the parchment - not until the sheet effects are turned on ;)
    (This will only work if you have added the parchment as a bitmap fill. Not sure if it will still work if you have just imported it as a png image)
    edited May 2018
    Here is one I did using the method I described above. The parchment has been added as a bitmap fill.

The symbols are from the Schley black and white set, and have a white background to them, just like the ones you have used.
  • DogtagDogtag Moderator, Betatester Traveler
    Yeah, that style really wasn't made to use color-filled backgrounds. The black and white symbols have a white background, and often are themselves filled white (see the trees). It lets them hide symbols or other entities that they overlap.
  • DogtagDogtag Moderator, Betatester Traveler
    edited May 2018
  • Posted By: Loopysue(This will only work if you have added the parchment as a bitmap fill. Not sure if it will still work if you have just imported it as a png image)