WIP Campaign World Map Ganocia

This is a world map I started for a new game I'm working on... since the other game has been put on an indefinite hold.

I decided, in the mean time, that I should get some practice in, running a game in 5th edition, since I have never done so before. I actually started this worldmap before my laptop was fried, but never got a chance to post it.

I'm trying a couple of different things with this world map, the first being the creation of the land masses. With the sole exception of the top most 3 islands, the main part of this world was actually created in Fractal Terrains. I then created a trace of those landmasses in the Herman Weilink style.

Next... I'm changing the way I do my mountains and foothills a bit... mainly because I'm trying to show different elevation levels, meaning some of my mountain ranges are higher and bigger than others. I also have some ideas that I don't know if I will be able to implement, we shall have to see. For right now, I've been consentrating on my mountain ranges. Now, I don't have anything in those top 3 islands, yet, because those are going to be 'hidden undiscovered lands'. Meaning that when my players first see this map, those lands won't be there. But, here is what I have so far.

Comments

• MedioMedio Surveyor
    Very nice coastline!
  • Thank you! That's what fractal terrains does, or one of the things it does.... is create beautiful coastlines.
  • 16 days later
  • I am still working on this... I now have all of my mountain ranges done... next step is my rivers
  • LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    You are getting so much better at mountain ranges. They look really natural :)