Directional Fading? Possible ? How To?

Hello Everyone,

I am very new to CC3+ (about a week) and have watched some nice Youtube tutorials and have followed along on some of those. I am now contemplating and tinkering with my first map on my own and I have envisioned an island with a sea cliff along much of one side of it. I have been experimenting with the terrains and the sheet effects but I have yet to come up with a combination that is what I am picturing in my mind. I am seeking, and hoping for, a little experienced advice to get me pointed in the right direction.

My first map is going to be a large island. My thoughts are to have sea cliffs along most of the east side of the island. I would like them to start gradual and then get kind of steep on the west side as you might see in the inside of an extinct volcano. I think they look pretty impressive. Crater Lake here is Oregon is one that I've been in and another was on the island of Moorea in French Polynesia. The one is Moorea is so large on the inside that they do a large part of the island's farming there. Anyway, tutorials with mountains seem to mostly use the Edge Fade, Inner, sheet effect to blend the different colored terrains together and they look good to show the idea of slope but they are sloped on all sides like mountains usually are. I would like to have this Edge Fade, Inner only on the western side and then with the Directional Wall Shadow sheet effect on the East side of the cliff spreading out over the water and rocky coastline below I am thinking I should be able to get the impression of a sea cliff. However, I am completely at a loss to figure out how to get and Edge Fade, Inner to only be on the western edges. Is this even possible?

With what I have described that I would like to accomplish, is there a better (i.e. standard?) , way to achieve this type of effect?

Kindest regards,
Chris

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    edited April 2018