Using Change Like Draw Tool

The Change Like Draw Tool is something I've never used before, but would probably be very handy, so I want to learn how to use it. When I click on it and select a new style (to change say a land mass from one style to another) I get the list, select the style I want, but the sample images are all solid colors and not the fills for that style. This seems to happen no matter which style I choose. Obviously, I'm doing something wrong... What am I missing?

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    edited February 2018
    Drawing tools only work in a map belonging to the same style as the drawing tools, unless you import the fills belonging to that style first. This is the same if you simply draw with the tools, or use change like draw tools with them.

To import the fills, the simplest is to first create a new blank map in the appropriate style for those tools, then go back to your normal map, and use Draw -> Insert file and pick the new map you just made. Once you have it on your cursor ready to place, you can hit Esc to abort. Just the act of preparing to insert it will have copied the fill style definitions over. Now the tools of that style should work normally.
  • Ah, okay. I guess I misunderstood the use of the command. The importing fills process and changing styles that way I got down already, I just thought this was a quicker or a "cheat" way to do it! lol! Thanks for clarifying, Monsen.
    No, it won't magically import the fill definitions from other styles, but it is a real time saver when you have copied something from a map of one style into a map of another style and want to bring that entity in line with the style of the map you copied it into. Or if you have drawn something without using a drawing tool (for example by merging multiple segments using CMB and CLOSEPATH) and then want to bring it in line with the style of the entities drawn using drawing tools.