What i can buy or not as Noob

Hello, i make a turn based strategy game for Unity3d. Thanks to the advice from many nice guys here, i prefer CC3+.

It is a game like Daisenryaku (Advance Wars, Panzer General are heavy inspired from Daisenryaku). The Game is from the thematic a mix from Valkyria Chronicles and Wolfenstein.

I make a fantasy earth that resemble the real earth, but with many differences. For the game i need a strategical map where you have provinces with armys, ressources, Cities and factories.

What i think what i need:

100% CC3+

Symbol Set 1+3

World War 2 Interactive Atlas

Fractal Terrains 3

Many Add-ons are for RPG, what i not need.

Any help?

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    Hello again, Mictator :)

I don't know any of these games you mention (I'm a writer, not an RPG player), so I can't really say what you would or wouldn't need as far as symbol sets are concerned, but if you eventually intend to make a set of more detailed maps of your cities you might like to consider getting the City Designer add on at some point in the future.

That is only a suggestion, however, since I'm not sure if you want to go down to that level of detail with your game :)
  • edited January 2018
    Well, the WW2 Interactive Atlas is basically a resource that tells you about all of the battles and things. Unless you want to read up about World War 2 then it really doesn't have much in the way of symbols or anything for mapping.

I would check out some of the annuals as well. For instance, the November 2009 Cartographer's Annual number 35 has lessons on how to make your own NATO style symbols for more modern military maps. The September 2011 Cartographer's Annual number 57 teaches you how to make military operations maps, similar to what you would find in the World War 2 Interactive Atlas.