Creating Grids With Variable Angles

I'm working on grids in DD3 -- but I'd like to be able to create per-room grids at variable angles, so that if you have (for instance) a 30 x 40 room at a diagonal I can see easily that it is 3 10' squares by 4 10' squares. Anyone have any good ideas how to do that?

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    Assuming your scale is the same throughout and you just want to rotate it to fit, I would duplicate the grid onto as many new grid sheets as you have different orientations of room, and working on each one individually, rotate the grid till it fits the room for which it is intended.

I think you can trim grids.... but I've never done anything like that before, so you might need someone else to make either a better suggestion, or to tell you how you might finish the job :)
  • I was trying to use symbol fills for grids, and it didn't seem like I could rotate the fill -- if I rotate the object containing the symbol fill the fill stayed the same orientation.
  • I think I've found at least a brute force solution -- I can define a symbol that is a 10' square, and then stamp that down as needed on the map. I don't know if there's a better way.
    If you were using a straightforward pattern fill it would be a simple case to convert the polygon containing it into a shaded polygon, and then using EDITSHADING to adjust the pitch of the shading, but...

I've never even used a symbol fill, so I wouldn't know if doing such a thing would even work :(
    You could draw your own grid by using grid, and snap (two buttons on the bottom right) grid shows a grid (the spacing of which can be adjusted by right clicking the grid button), and snap ensures that your clicks as you draw your grid lines snap to the point on the grid.

Having drawn the one bit of grid you could then copy it and paste it, then rotate the different copies as required?