My first map - recommendations welcome

Hello everybody,

I am new to CC3+ and to this forum and I want to learn how to make my maps better. As I now finished my first map, I would like get some feedback from you to improve my skills. My first map is a regional map for a German indepent roleplaying game from the 90`s which is no longer supported (thats why i bought CC3+). So I used the original world-map for the basic layout (main river, mountains, forest, borders, desert etc) and then added details.
I have to admit that I was overwhelmed from the possibilities of the program and used symbols etc. from all different styles so that the map looks a bit eclectic. For future maps I learned my lesson and I will try to make them look more consistent (I maybe was too euphoric :-)).
I am not satisfied with the landmass, especially since I saw Hadrians Demosthenes Swamp I know that I need to learn a lot. So maybe you could give some advice how to improve.

Thanks in advance, Jensen

Comments

• This is a great first map! Personally, i am a fan of mixing styles up, as it gives the maps a more individual and personalized look and feel to them. I especially like your desert region :)
  • I'm very impressed. Love the sea especially as well as the desert.
    Give yourself a really big pat on the back for this. I'm not quite at your standard for overland maps - and this is your first CC3 map?! Fantastic.
    And the mixing of styles seems great to me.
  • Welcome! This is beautiful, well done! I love the mix of styles, it's something that I like to do as well. I look forward to seeing more from you! :)
  • edited June 2017
    Thanks for the comments, it's my first completed map and it took me a lot of time. But I learned a lot and I think the next maps won`t take so long. I am a bit (positive) surprised that you like the mix of the styles. I thought that maybe was a mistake, but your feedback gives motivation!