Continent: Harrondor Game Campaign Map WIP

Greets all,

Here's what I've been working on for awhile now. As you can see, though I've been trained as a typographer, I'm having issues with text label placement, style, color, etc. Very frustrating as I'm coming to discover that advertising design typography doesn't necessarily mean you know how to place/utilize text on a map.

Here's my scheme:

Nation names in white, bold, dropshadow
City names in beige, normal, dropshadow
Terrain features: yellow green, normal, dropshadow
Strange features: purple and as above
Gates: blue and as above

Unfortunately, even after enhancing in various paint progs, I can't get a high resolution png unless I pull out enlarged areas and post those. So, I'm going to try and include the FCW here as well.
Advice of all sorts will be very much appreciated :)

Cal

Comments

• I'm no expert in typography, just wanted to say this is a lovely map. :)

"Vog Muir?" That's the name of a very early Rolemaster setting. Is that island chain based off the module?
  • Posted By: BarlimanI'm no expert in typography, just wanted to say this is a lovely map. :)

"Vog Muir?" That's the name of a very early Rolemaster setting. Is that island chain based off the module?
    Yes, indeed. Although I adapted it: Vog Mur was the original. Basically, I have my own history and stories for this world which I call Archandus.
    I use names I've got particularly strong memories about, like Arvon and High Hallack; some of the others are manipulated from Quenya or names in fantasy stories I really like.
    I'm running it on a MUSH but using Skype for the players who are challenge by typing as fast as I can heh.
    When necessary, I just load a section of the map previous rendered out into skype and everyone can view it.

Thanks for the compliment. It looks so much better without the labels or with labels but enlarged heh.