Border issue + coastlines and terrain colours

Firstly, I'm very new to this program so apologies if the answer is something simple. I've searched tutorials and such, but cannot seem to figure out how to fix the issues I'm having.

1) I created a landmass and proceeded to fill it with forests, towns, etc. I later realized one part wasn't big enough for what I needed to put there, so I spent ages trying to figure out how to use the edit function. I did, but each time I used the bordered default landmass and edited on part, both had borders which looked stupid as they overlapped and made no logical sense. I eventually made the edit/extended part a landmass without a border to try and fix this and thought I could just use the "outline in black" option, but nope. I cannot select the edited on bit at all. I also think if I did add a border to the new section (which is actually two bits) it would still have the extra borer. Basically, I just want to outline the entire mass and not bits of it. Every time I try to click it, only the previous portion gets selected as if the new bits don't exist. (see attachment)

2) As I'm new, I kept a lot of default settings and figured things out as I went. I'm very happy with my landmass (minus the above issue, of course) but some areas are meant to be sandy deserts or ashy ground, and others lush forests or snowy plains - I was wondering how to change the colour of certain parts of a landmass - like a paintbrush or something to "paint" some parts of land to match the intended terrain of forests, mountains, etc.

3) How can I add a shoreline? Like, a little glow effect for the coasts.

4) What's the purpose of the "key" box that automatically appears whenever I create a map? And how do I get rid of it (if it's going to be on the final result of the map and isn't just a tool box that appears for my editing benefit only)?