Topographic Game Maps

HI all. I've been using CC3/3+ for about 4 years and still an amateur. :) I use it to craft maps for games based on topographic maps. Here is a look at three:

The first is from my Game "Defense of Corona" a game set near the city of Corona, CA (hard to figure that out) in the 1950s as units from the 1st Marine Regiment, the 153rd Regimental Combat Team, and Combat Command A of the 40th Armored Division battle alien invaders.

The 2nd is the area covering the WWII Battle of Arras, in which the British launched a small counterattack that struck behind Romme'ls Panzer Regiment, ran amok for a while causing a lot of damage, and contributed to the German Halt Order which allowed the British to escape at Dunkirk.

The 3rd is still a work in progress based on the US Army National Training Center, it will be used for a game covering Hammer's Slammers (with permission of David Drake.)

Comments

• The NTC.

Unfortunately, these are screen shots of pdfs or a view off of Campaign Cartographer because when I try to Save As as JPG, the map retains to quality as you try to zoom in on it.

I print the maps by sending them to CutePDF, usually as 1 sheet. I make the map dimensions equal to the size dimensions of the finished map. The first two print out in 4 -11 x 17 maps, so the size is 22 high x 34 wide in a 1 x 1 sheet . The NTC maps is 15 11 x 17 map sheets. I print it in a file that is 3 wide x 5 high.

The contour maps I download from USGS if possible, or purchase paper maps, cut them up for scanning (which really hurts me), scan them, reassemble them in a photo editing program, save as a BMP, import to CC3+, and then commence to tracing.

Thanks for looking.

Mike
  • Hi Mike,

Welcome to the forums. Interesting maps. I used to play a game called Micro Armour, a tabletop minatures game with lots of WW 2 type tanks. These topographical maps would have been great for us to set up battlefields and such. Great job on these.