World Map, Take Two

Alright, I've had a similar thread on an overworld in the past but its been awhile and now I've actually gotten something drawn up. I've got the basic shape though I need to check and make sure I've got everything inside it I want.
What I hope to get input on right now is:
1) Constructive criticism
2) A better way to lay out details (Mountains, woodlands, etc.)
3) What I'm missing, there's a lot of empty space in the map. The map is supposed to be a world map so I know details are meant to be general but I still see a lot of empty space I'd like to fill.
4) Is this scale about right for an overworld? I beleive I made it 10,000 by 8,000 and its given me a lot of space to work with, perhaps even close to to much.
5) Anything I didn't think to ask?

Comments

• I am far from a pro but here are a few thoughts.
    Use many varied symbols for mountains. There are so many and they can really liven up a mountain range.
    Same goes with trees.
    When you add in some random symbols that don't make sense it really adds character to the world. Like a Volcano in a mountain range, some dead trees in a forest. Let the symbols add some magic for you.

I add in polygons filled with colour to serve as climate regions. IE yellow for desert and purple for swamp.
  • LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    That's a good start Alirode :)

Adding to what cobra mustang said about adding polygons of colour, you can also add polygons filled with textures that indicate desert, grassland, farmland, swamp and forests. If you use a drawing tool to add them you can trace the coastline as part of each polygon, so that you can accurately fill an area of farmland (for example) right up to the coast if you want to. When you add texture polygons, however, you might want to read up a bit on Sheet Effects, since they look much better with an Edge Fade Inner effect on them to blend them more naturally together like they would be in the real world.