Large map (contintent-sized): CC3 or Fracal Terrain?

Hi,

I am a brand new user of Campaign Cartographer who is a bit uncertain as to whether she picked the right software for the job, or if perhaps Fractal Terrains would have been more appropriate. What I am looking to do is to create a fairly large overview map of a fantasy world. It doesn't necessarily have to be a whole globe to start with, but at least a large continent. I have tried out CC3+ for a week or so now and my main problem has been coming to grasp to what sort of scale I am working with. I made the map 5000 by 5000, but I am not sure what my scale is, as such, so it makes it hard to envision just how large a section of land the map is actually representing.

Well, as you can see, I am a bit lost on some of the core concepts. I have been trying to make my way through the documenation, but so far it is all a bit nebulous. This is my first time working with any kind of CAD software, as well.

In terms of Fractal Terrain, some of how it is described sounds quite ideal, but just how difficult is it to create a world from scratch with it? And how does it work when you export a section to CC3?

Comments

• I don't have fractal terrains yet, only cc3+. I've been using g it since February, so I can tell you so.e of the things I've learned.

Both programs can make maps on a global scale. I'm actually working on a continental map for a commission that is on a rather large scale. I'm also working on a world map for a campaign I will be run into in the coming months. There is an artist here on the forums, LoopySue, that does use fractal terrains, doing so.e amazing work with global and city maps with it. So if you look at some of the show and tell threads from her, myself, Lorelei... And well there are a lot of us that make overland maps....you can get a feel for what either program can do.