Floors Mask sheet in DD3

I am trying to get my floors mask sheet to work. I am using the TOUM instructions on page 224 and seem to be getting stuck on instruction 13. I think I am making the copies of the background and walls sheets correctly but I am not sure. I am not very good at explaining what I want in these forums so I have added a video link that shows exactly what I am doing so that my error can be pinpointed and corrected easier.

Here is my video question.

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    edited September 2016
    1. When copying your background to FLOORS MASK, make sure to only copy the background, I noticed you were getting some parts of the map border too (Notice you had 4 entities selected)
    2. Make sure you actually select the FLOORS MASK as a copy destination each time, in the video FLOORS mask did not get selected when you tried to copy the cave.
    3. When doing multipoly, make sure to select BOTH the background AND the cave before executing DO IT. This is really the whole secret here, by combining the copy of the background with your dungeon floorplan, you end up with a background with a hole in it.

Also, note that the point of the keep (extract properties) command is to get the correct properties on your new MASK, because multipoly applies the current properties to the new multipoly, and we thus need to ensure that these matches the ones from out background, since that is the look we want. Thus, it is also very important that you selected the background when using this, and not for example, the map border. In fact, I would probably just hide the MAP BORDER and SCREEN sheets while working with this.

Also, +1 for using a video, it makes it so much clearer for me to see what you are doing and what goes wrong.