Drawing symbols for use in CC3

I have decided to draw a set of symbols for my maps (primarily trees, tents and boats) to compliment the built in sets available in CC3 and its add-ons.

This thread is about how these symbols were made, and shows the thinking process, all the experiments (whether they worked or not - including the mistakes), and also the resulting png files.

Most of the graphics present here will be draft versions in various stages of 'build', but there may also be a few that are complete and 'as-is' ready to go in a map. All will have perfectly good transparent backgrounds, because it is easier leaving the settings set for transparency than messing around making some of them transparent and others not. If you think my work is good enough (and please remember that I am only an amateur and not a professional artist), you may copy them and keep them as yours if you wish :)

I will start the ball rolling with this one:

[Image_6440]

My first ever tree - The 'Disjointed Spaghetti' tree. Its really bad, and on top of all that its a most horrible colour, but its a starting point to improve on.

Comments

• I like the look of the Swamp Strangler Tree, typically found in dense evil swamps. It delights in diping one limb down to gently tap on the shoulder of a victim uh character walking through the swamp. Especially if the character's buddy is standing nearby... so an argument will ensue. When both are busy arguing, other limbs reach down and strangle them.
  • LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    Lol! Jim. I hardly have time to draw breath and already you're making up stories for the worst tree ever drawn!

I have another one now and this time its better...ish ;)
    edited August 2016