A simple question before I buy

Hello to the ProFantasy Community!

Since I started to stage DnD rounds every now and then I had been looking for a good mapping program and finally I found CC3.
The price however, makes me think again before I buy, especially after hearing about "Annuals" or symbol packs. Since I am only a student, the packages are pretty expensive for me so...

What can I do if I only buy "Campaign Cartographer 3" without any add-on's, packs, subscriptions etc.?
Are there enough tools, symbols or however it is called in the base program to create overland maps? (I know dungeon maps are an add-on, which is perfectly fine)

What I want to create is a pretty little map with some symbols for mountains, woods and trees or cities in addition to rivers and the general landmass of course. I do not need detailed city maps.
The goal is to give my players a classic "Worldmap" as it can be found in every RPG so places of interest and cities are represented by a symbol and not in detail.
What I am afraid of: That it is only the program itself without any really usable symbols (or just 5 test symbols). A good comparison would be "MS Word without Fonts, Symbols, Templates or Letters" so if you want to write something you have to purchase "Times New Roman" pack.
Finally, I want to stress that I am simply a cautious buyer. I do not want to imply anything negative at all!

Thank you for your answers and your time!

Comments

• LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    edited June 2016
    Hello Rayeth