Creating an island in a lake

Hi everyone, I'm pretty new to this program, and I'm sure there's already a topic somewhere explaining how to do this already, but I thought it would probably be easier to just ask again than to search for that topic (sorry).
I was trying to create an island with rivers and lakes, and one of those lakes si supposed to have a smaller island in it as well. I tried creating a new "Land" type, but I just ended up messing everything up, and now all the land I draw is dark blue instead of green... Anyway, is there a simple way to create land that's above the lake layer, but beneath the mountains and rivers layer?
And while I'm at it, how do I know which layer is supposed to be in front of which? like, is the mountain layer in front of vegetation or is it the other way around? And how do I change that?
I hope I'm clear, if not please tell me and I'll try to explain better.

Comments

• Well, I think the first thing that might help, is to establish between the sheets and the layers. Sheets are what you work off from, the layers group objects together. If you look up at your main bar across the top, the sheets bar is on the left. the Layers bar is on the right. Sheets you can move up or down according to how you want the map drawn, layers are in alphabetical order, and do not change. Sheets create the effects, layers do not.

Second thing. This is one of the most important things to remember. Items are drawn on your map according to how the Sheets are ordered. From the top down, the top being drawn first, then the next sheet on top of that, then the next on top of that, etc. so it's always best to draw land mass first, then your mountains/hills, then lakes and rivers, and so on. But if you, say... want terrain fills, or contures to blend into the back ground, but you drew them last... you just move them up the list until they are where you want.