Creating a World - Best Practice Process Help

Hi,

I am new to this entire suit, but have read through the manual of CC3+ and some forum posts and tutorials, but I cannot find what I am looking for, which is...
I want to create a world, with a world map, continent maps and detailed locale maps (and cities and dungeons eventually). This is to be part of a book, and will by the characters be discovered bottom-up, meaning smaller maps before larger maps. However, I want them all to fit together nicely, so I need to have an idea of how the big world will be so that I know what the borders of my smaller maps need to look like.

Therefore I want to know if there is any best practice process in which order to create maps, in which program, so that the mountain ranges, coastlines, rivers and forests appear similar on both world, continent and local maps. Should I start with world map in Fractal Terrains and export that into CC3+ (is that possible? I do not currently own FT3), or is it just as simply to create local maps first and then extrapolate? I have seen the tutorial for getting CC3 maps to FT3, and it seems overly complicated, making me think there are easier ways. Or should I just make the entire thing in CC3+?

Is it possible to create "zoom-in-and-detail-this-area-maps"? Meaning that I can start a new CC3 map from a part of another one, where the general features remain but I detail further, adding smaller cities, rivers, woods, etc?

Hope this is not answered before, but the search feature did not reveal any. Maybe I'm just a bad searcher, maybe it's new.

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer