Mountain Density

I've just begun making an island map, and was putting some mountains in it when I started wondering about the density of the mountains. I've attached the file for reference, but the question I have is this. I created a mountain terrain area, then plopped about a billion mountains into it spacing them with enough overlap to completely cover the mountain terrain area. The question I have is whether to even bother with the mountain terrian bit if I'm putting down that many plopables, or if I should do the terrain with fewer plopables, I just don't really know what works best.

As you may have guessed, I'm still very new to this, and while I understand the controls, I'm not sure of the aesthetic, so I'd appreciate any helpful feedback.

Thanks

Comments

• edited September 2015
    I like laying down mountains and then running foothills along side them.

I then pick a bitmap that is suitable to for tying the mountains to the foot hills so they look like they belong together.

The bitmap that I use depends heavily on the terrain that the mountain range is in as well as the color of the mountains and hills.

Some times it is a mountain fill bitmap if it is an area of mountains together with no foothills, sometimes is the hill fill bitmap if it match's the hills I am using , and for most, it is a color that ties the hills and mountains together.

I will make some step by step examples to show you how I build mine.
  • edited September 2015
    The first example is using color:

Here we have winter terrain with grey mountains.
  • edited September 2015
    Now we have placed our foothills.

For the color option, I find that it works best if you bring the foothills in close.

Send To Back & Deselect will help greatly in accomplishing this.

It takes longer, but has great results.

Since this is winter terrain, I have chosen white foothills.

If you look carefully, you can see gaps between the mountains and the hills.
  • edited September 2015