cut world map to region

I have a part of a cft3 world map I want to focus on in cc3. I've exported the map and can zoom in on the part I want to work on, but when I zoom out the whole world is still there. Also, it's a climate map. How do I illustrate mtn ranges etc without having the whites, blues, etc underneath?

Comments

• Do a search in these forums for 'large map to small' and you will see 2 discussions on this. I have a tutorial on this on my Crestar site.
  • Link, please? I feel pathetic - what I found (by you, even) seems to use functions I don't know. (I'm a noob.)
  • My map tutorials have some broken links as I'm moving sub-domain sites.

Basically load the large map into CC3.

Make a hollow triangle of the small part you want as a separate map.

Using Info menu -> Distance, measure the hollow triangle and label it.

As an example I'll say is is 500 miles by 400 miles.

Using the text commands on the right side of CC3, label the hollow rectangle.
  • Next:

Zoom in to the hollow rectangle using the zoom window upper right of CC3 to just outside of the hollow rectangle.

Select Save As from the file menu.

At the bottom of the requester, select 'save as type' rectangular section bmp.

Give it a name, a city or country on the map will do.

Click okay.

Go back to the map. You now have a set of guide lines. one vertical and one horizontal.

Click the upper left of the hollow triangle, move the guide lines to the lower right corner. Click again.

You want to select opposite corners.

You now have a bmp of the hollow rectangle on your computer.
  • Close that map or close CC3.

Start a new map by click on what looks like a white sheet of paper with the upper right corner folded own, below the menus at the top of CC3.

Click 'Decide settings myself'.

Select the type of map you want, as an example, Overland maps.

Click the Next button.

Select the type of overland map you want. I'm, selecting 'CC3 standard overland'.

Click Next.