Creative MAssive Continents?

Howdy,

CC3 Noob here, working on a full (redonkulously large) world map, drawing over an image i made in photoshop. Got all the islands/small continents and such done, but when i try to draw over either of the two big continents, whenever i get about 80-90% done it's like the land drawing tool runs out of memory and doesn't record any of my clicks after a certain period. So when i try to finish it most of the detail becomes land, but the last bit acts as if i never drew it, and instead just has a big straight line going from where i started and where the tool stopped recording what i was doing.

I'm assuming the continent i'm trying to create is just too big for the program to keep track of in one go? I'd do one half and then the other, but then rather than combining into one big green landmass there's always an overlap line between the two halves, and i have no idea how to get rid of it.

Pretty much stuck on this project til i can get the continents done, so any help either making the tool keep track of a huge drawing, or some technique to combine two halves of a landmass without the big distracting line between the pieces would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Comments

• DkarrDkarr Traveler
    Are you sure you are not clicking in an area that falls outside of the delineated MAP BORDER? I have seen this type of behavior when inadvertently I have started to draw entities outside the border. These entities don't add any more nodes.
  • Yeah, there are islands and such outside of the continental areas, it also has the big default map border around the whole thing past the seas.
  • Drawing tools don't typically go outside the map border sheet/layer.
  • Is your coastline heavily fractalized? I seem to remember there being a limit to how many nodes CC3 can handle. I can't remember exactly what that limit is. Let me hunt around the forums to see if I can find the thread I'm remembering.