Question about EULA and Video Games

I have been using ProFantasy for a few years now as a personal hobby creating maps for a private table top game (not for profit). recently, though, I have gotten the urge to begin designing my own video game and I would really like to use the maps I have made in the game as world maps for an RPG. If (big "if") I decide to release the game for profit I would like to know if I can do so.

I have read the EULA and read a few forum posts that talk about this subject, but, because I want to release a product that is predominantly software based I wanted to run it by the people here to see how that works. At worst I guess I can just ask for permission and get something in writing maybe?

some things to consider are that I might want to create separate sprites for individual objects that use some of the Annual artwork to make animations in the game as well as using the artwork to create tile sets to generate maps dynamically while the game is being played. there will be NO in game export of the artwork or the generated maps, so I am not trying to re-distribute the artwork, they will just be for aesthetics and in-game purposes. Of course people will always be able to take screenshots I guess.

Its a unique enough situation that I thought I would ask first.

Comments

• RalfRalf Administrator, ProFantasy 🖼️ 18 images Mapmaker
    Sorry, you can't use individual assets (like texture or symbols) from our products in your software, only aggregate maps/drawings you've created. For example you could create a set of detailed map tiles and dynamically arrange them in your program to create random maps, but you can't use symbols to make sprites or build maps on the fly. You would need a special license from us to allow that.