Questions from a Newbie

Hello All!

I am new to ProFantasy Software. I'm excited by all the capabilities in FT3 and CC3. However, as many of you can probably relate, it's a bit overwhelming at first. I have watched most of Joe Sweeny's videos, but as I start to mess around, I have a few questions.

First: What is the Prescale Offset? I mean, I can see some of the effects it does... but how is the "Raise Prescale Offset" fundamentally different than using the "Raise" function? I see it was even a "new button" added in FT3 from FTPro since so many people wanted it... so how does it work and what is the difference? I want to understand what I'm doing, not just click random buttons.

Second: I have an old map I made in Fractal Mapper that I want to convert to FT3. I exported the "silhouette" (black and white only), and have figured out how to convert the land to a specific altitudes using an image overlay and the "color-to-altitude" conversion. I've event tried using the "Peak" and "Basin" to give it some features. My problem is that whenever I try to "Roughen" the terrain, it usually makes some of my land masses submerge below sea level. I can artificially prevent this by making the land start at say 3000 feet above sea level, but then the "edges" are beveled and much too far above my sea level terrain. Smoothing isn't sufficient to fix this. I'm obviously just starting out, but can anyone give me good advice how I can convert my land masses to FT3 while also getting some of the nice texture from a FT3 synthetic world?

I'm told this is a very friendly community, and I can't wait to learn from you (and hopefully one day contribute!)

Comments

• jslaytonjslayton Moderator, ProFantasy Mapmaker
    http://ridgenet.net/~jslayton/CGTutorial/index.html might be helpful. To recreate your world, consider loading your mask as a selection and then painting the world up using the prescale offset painting tool. It's a pain, but the results can be quite nice.