Creating Square Grids within Rooms only.

Hi.

I'm fairly new to PF and just picked up a few of the Annual sets. The set I was interested in most is Annual 2007. The reason is because I've been tinkering with designing caverns but was not happy with the results. Annual 2007 aka Annual 1 has an issue that tackles caves and believe me the purchase of the Annual just for the cave info was worth it for me!

OK, so now for my problem. I saw that the example cave image shows a square grid within the cavern chambers ONLY and not throughout the entire map. It makes the map look much more professional and will work even better when printed as a battle map. There is a section on how to perform this feature in the pdf mapping guide: Caves & Caverns. I tried following the instructions, but it doesn't seem to help.
Here is what the pdf says about placing a gris within the rooms, or on floors only.

"But if you want a grid that only covers the floor and not the walls beyond, you can Copy to Sheet to copy the floor entities - layer BACKGROUND (FLOOR 1) - to the GRID sheet. Then change their fill style to one of the Square or Hex grid symbol fill styles."

I think I need to figure out two things.

1. Can someone show me step by step how to use the Copy to Sheet function? I'm doing as the pdf says regarding trying to copy the Background - Floor 1 (Layer) to GRID sheet, but it does not appear to be working. I think I'm not understanding how to use the Copy to Sheet function properly.

Is there a way to see entities in the program? I mean the BACKGROUND (FLOOR 1) layer. How do I know what entities are within it and when trying to Copy to Sheet to the GRID sheet, how can I tell if anything copied? In my attempts the GRID sheet remains with but two options. Transparency (checked) and Blur (unchecked) which is no different than before I attempt any of this.