Fractal Terrain: New world from Bin files

I'd like to transfer my world in Fractal Terrain through a .bin file but i don't know how to create a bin file from my world. Anybody has an idea about how i could accomplish that?

Pat

Comments

• Nothing yet? Maybe i wasn't clear in my question?

Pat
  • MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    This is most probably because there are few people who really know the answers to this one, I suspect

I am not the most skilled FT user in the world myself, but as far as I know, it is not possible to do this from FT. It might somehow be possible to use the raw binary export you can make through the "Save as" dialog, but if it is, I don't know how. Then again, as I said, I am no expert on FT.

You might want to contact ProFantasy tech support on this one. If this is possible, they should know.
  • Thanks for a response :) I understand and will investigate more on what i could do to achieve what i want to do in FT.

Pat
  • NeonKnightNeonKnight Traveler
    edited July 2008
    Ralf Schemmann has a tutorial on his Jhendor website which could probably be gleaned for information:

http://www.jhendor.de/cc2/tutorials.html
  • The tutorial was very helpful.

Unfortunately, Wilbur and FR have changed significantly and the instructions present ways to do things that are not in the program anymore. I think i was able to recreate what Ralph explains in the new versions but i don't get results like he does. It maybe something with the height values i enter or the extension file i choose.

Anyway, i'm still hammering at it and i'm so close to producing something i always dreamed of... a 3d version of the forgotten realms :)

Pat
  • edited July 2008
    Well, i was finally able to transfer my Toril File et FR PRO after many hours of labor ...fun :)

Here are some preliminary results in attached files.

Pat
    Very nice.
    I wouldn't mind a copy of the .ftw when you are done, if you don't mind sharing.