Layering problems

Hello to everyone,

I'm pretty new in starting to use Pro Fantasy's Campaign Cartographer 3 (Fantasy Mapper bundle) and had no success to get around a tutorial problem in creating a new map. Everything works fine until I save my map. After saving, mountains placed on default contour line will be just down below this layer. If I hide the 'Relief/Contour' layer I can see the mountain range I placed. Using the 'BringToFront' Button and unhiding the Contour lines won't help.

I just followed the official tutorial and I'm not sure if I made something wrong.. any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Stefan

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    Sounds like the sheet order might be wrong.
    First use the Info -> list tool on the mountains symbols and the contour line, to make sure they are respectably on the "symbols" and "contours (land)" sheet. If any of them are on the wrong sheet, use Change Properties to change the sheet of the entities.
    Then, assuming they are on the correct sheet, open up the Sheets and Effects dialog, and look at the sheet order. The sheet at the top of the list are drawn before those further down, and will thus appear at the bottom of the drawing, below the other sheets. You need to make sure "Contours (Land)" is drawn before "Symbols", so if it isn't above "Symbols" in the list, move it up so that it is.

This typically happens if a sheet that was in the template has disappeared/been deleted for any reason. The drawing tool will then recreate it when it needs it, but it won't know where in the order to place it, so it gets placed at the bottom, and as a consequence gets drawn on top of everything else. Because the way CC operates, this is not immediately evident until you save your map, or force a redraw.