Post Production on a Call of Cthulhu Warehouse Map

Hey all.

I just had a sudden realization that one can alter images in Gimp. So, I have been playing around with "Post-production" if you will. In this map, I definitely like the texture that I gave the warehouse floor, it really broke it up a bit and made it seem more real. Then I found the Burn tool. I think this has a lot of promise for the kind of maps that I am making. My question is does the burned brown on the warehouse boxes seem too overwhelming compared to the rest of the map? Has anyone used the burn tool in Gimp or something similar in photoshop to do something similar? I think the burn on the map gives it a really old time feel. I like the way it brings out the texture of the boxes too. Is this too much for this map or should I maybe try burning the whole thing slightly to get a slightly browned color?

This is my first attempte with altering a map outside of Cartographer. I gotta say I am having a LOT of fun but want some guidance as just because there are these tools available doesn't mean that I should be using them!

Nick

Comments

• I like the effect and the multi-cast shadows from the crates! It's got a little of a Raiders of the Lost Ark warehouse at the end feel going on, very cool. I'd encourage you to keep pushing the boundries, you won't know how "to far" is until to pass it and say to yourself, "Whoops, shouldna done THAT."
  • Hi mosswood17,

This map looks good, but be careful about shadow depth, direction, and how light sources push shadows though. One technique that you can use to plan shadow angles and intersections goes like this: