Brand New to Map Making

Hi there,

I am interested in buying this product, but I would like someone to answer a few questions. Firstly, I went to a friend's house and tried it out a little. After struggling for about an hour, I became frustrated and gave up. I couldn't get the size of the map that I wanted no matter what I did.

Now, I have never used map editing before, so I really didn't know what I was doing. My friend tried to explain it to me, but I won't retain any of her instruction unless I can physically do it. So before I spend an insane amount of money on this software, can anyone tell me how difficult creating a world map is? Are there any tricks to it?

Thanks!

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    edited July 2008
    It depends a bit of your point of view. CC3 does have a certain learning curve, but doing a few tutorials is enough to get the hang of the program and make very nice maps easily.
    Personally, I find it quite easy to do almost anything I need in CC3.

One of the important things to remember when learning CC3 is that this is NOT an image processing program, so don't expect to be able to do things the same way as you would in Photoshop or similar. And unless you are familiar with CAD-based program, don't expect to be able to just jump in without doing at least the basic tutorials, they are essential to understanding the software.
    Once you get to know it, you'll realise that CC3 is extremely powerful, and IMHO, quite intuitive (It might not feel like this at first).

There is a free video tutorial at ProFantasy's website that shows how easy it is to build a dungeon. A similar tutorial is available for overland maps, but this is part of the Cartographer's Annual 2008, a pay product.

Also remember that ProFantasy has a satisfaction guarantee, so trying it out is risk-free.