How can I fill a polygon created with the line tool?

I am working on a map for my d&d game. It consists of a peninsula surrounded by sea on three sides. I am new to the program and still have quite a bit to learn, but for now I have a pressing question.

The peninsula I have created is on it's own sheet called CITY BORDER. I made the mistake of creating it with the line tool. I have come up with a shape I really like, and do not want to have to recreate it with the polygon tool. However, I can not seem to figure out how to fill the interior of the shape without doing so. All of the lines I used have been grouped to make one flowing border, and fractalised to look natural. As I stated above, I am quite new to CC3, and so this process took me some length of time to get it just right. I would hate to have to scrap all of my work and start over, so if anyone can offer a bit of insight, I would be extremely grateful. I have searched the forums, and can not seem to find any topics that cover this particular issue. Thanks in advance.

-Ben

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    Firstly, ungroup any groups.

Then it depends on what you have done with the lines. Lines made by the line tool cannot be fractalized, so I assume you have already made them into a path. If you haven't, you need to use Line to Path [LTP2] on them to convert your individual line segments to a Path. (Convert all of them to a path in one go, this makes a continuous path)

If you converted each line to an individual path when you fractalized (Meaning your coastline now consists of many individual entities instead of a long path), you need to use Combine Path [CMB] to merge them into one continous path

Finally, use Path to Poly [CLOSEPATH] on the now combined coastline. It will turn into a closed polygon. Now you can use change properties on it to set the appropriate fill styles and so on.