My first map - Arnhaal

I know, it's pretty bad, I need suggestions, tips, what have you. I was trying to do a whole continent.

I wouldn't mind tips on placing settlements and stuff, cause right now its congested. Trying to figure out rivers is annoying, they look so unnatural when I try them out.

I haven't labeled anything yet, obviously.

Comments

• I think it's pretty cool, and it looks to be practical enough to qaulify as a great starting point for a nice background story. You have a diversity of environments that are placed logically, the map is not overly complicated or convoluted with excessive details that might be distracting or unnecessary, and it's clear enough to find where everything is rather conveniently and quickly.

I'm not an RPG gamer, I'm an artist - but from what I do know about gaming from both my own study - and the input and feedback from other gamers that I've been aqaunted with, which is a little more than the unfamiliar layman - I can tell you that there are maps that are extremely detailed and "artsy fartsy", but that are difficult to follow or awkward to use for game play because they might be far too "over the top" and elaborate. Then there are maps that are very basic and simple - yet very pleasing to the eye - that really make for some fun and involved / engaging game play. Your map strikes me as the latter. I like it!
  • Heh thanks, though this is meant not for RPG but for writing actually.

I'm personally not quite satisfied with it... trying to figure out ways to improve.
  • edited April 2011
    The only thing that I see that you really need are Place Names, Roads, and Rivers, Place Names being the most important - and the other two being more or less optional - but like I said - it looks like a great staging area for a story.

Here's some tips:

Settlements are located usually either near bodies of water, agricultural land, or mines / minable resources.