Map size/scale increase

Okay, this may just be me being really stupid.

I'm a writer, and I'm in the process of writing a fantasy novel, so as expected, a map is always a useful point of reference. I'm not necessarily looking to create something amongst the epic scale of some cartographers in here, but I do want it to be understandable and look quite cool.

However, I seem to have reached a problem, an impasse if you will...is there a way of increasing the scale/ size of the map once you're in the process of making it? It's only 400 x 300 miles, and now I'm regretting making it quite so small. I'm looking at maybe tripling it to 1200 x 900 if possible. Is there a way of doing this without starting again?

Thankfully I only purchased the software recently so I can excuse myself from complete stupidity...I hope... This is said map in the attachment.

Comments

• Quick point, the black outline text refers to big cities, blue is towns, green small villages, red the seas, and yellow forests.
  • Also, I appreciate it looks too computer generated to feature in a book, I intend to have an artist do a drawn version that'll tone down the "technologicalness".
  • Make a copy first.

The easiest way to scale everything is to make sure all the sheets and layers are visible and unfrozen. Then click the scale button and select everything. You can drag to change the scale or enter it on the command line.

Alternately (there's almost always a second way in CC3) is to select File>Drawing Properties>Drawing Units and change the scale to 1/3 what it is now (if you want everything 3x the size) -- make sure that the rescale button is clicked.

Steve
  • 6 days later
  • 1 month later
  • DogtagDogtag Moderator, Betatester Traveler
    edited March 2011