New to CC3 and confused

Hi all,

As stated in the topic, I'm new to Campaign Cartographer and have purchased CC3. I've followed the tutorials but find that the program and its interface is kind of unwieldy and a bit unintuitive in some of what, to me, should be rather obvious things.

I've recreated a map for a game project I'm working on, have the major continents in place and so forth but am finding it difficult to continue basically because I have no clue what I'm supposed to be doing or how to get anything to work/look the way I want it to, if at all.

In specific...
I've added a map grid, which will be used to help set map coordinates in the future and also as a visual reference. The problem I'm having is that I can't seem to select anything else without also selecting it. I've tried to find a way to freeze it or make it unselectable, but to no avail. I've tried to figure out how to get it on its own layer so I can perhaps isolate it that way... which leads me to the next problem...

I see people talking about layers, adding them and such.. I cannot find any such functionality. I've dug through every menu and tried a number of things that I felt might be it, but it wasn't. So.. as of right now, if I were to continue with adding features, they'd all be going on the same layer, at least that's the way it seems... which leads me to the next problem.. I've looked in the help, but nothing in there was of any help either.