Text on map questions (please help)

I am an absolute beginner, but from what I have read here it looks like some of you are professoinal auto-cad programmers. Please forgive the inanity of my questions but I am a straight up beginner.

1. How can I get my text labels in CC3 maps to remain "above" trees and other entities? I am just too retarded to figure it out, even with the help guide.

THanks for any help you can provide my fellow hobbyists. Matt, Boston MA USA.

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    edited June 2008
    The simplest way of accomplishing this is to make sure you place the text on a sheet that is above the other entities. Most maps include a default "Text" sheet that is conveniently placed near the top.

Before placing text, just look at your status bar at the top, to make sure you are on the text sheet. If you aren't, click the indicator, and select the text sheet before placing your text. For already placed text, use the '"Change Properties" command on it to change sheets
    Note that in the sheet dialogue, the further down the list an item is, the higher up it gets drawn. So the items on the last sheet in the list gets drawn on top of everything else.
  • Cool. That makes much more sense.

Except - now when I go to add text, it goes through the normal "text properties" window, but when I hit ok, all I have is a crosshair that does nothing to the map. Am I on the wrong layer?

By the way, thanks for the help...
    edited June 2008
    Is your text height set to a sensible size? The text height is measured in map units (which is equal to miles or kilometres on an overland map, feet or meters on a dungeon map). If it is set too small, or too big, you won't see the text when placing it. (If it was too big, you can do a zoom extents to "find" it after placing it).