Continental Coastline

Ok I'm a total noob, I've never even really used any mapping software before so please forgive my.....noobishness.

Anyhow, I want to create a coastline of a larger continental landmass. I'm actually creating from an already existing map, and I want to create a part of it. Anyhow, the problem I get is when I draw the fractal coastline and then right click to finish it, the program takes that line and creates an island out of it. What I want to do is create the line, then fill one side of it as a landmass and the other as ocean. I looked through help and couldn't figure it out. What do I need to do?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    What you need to do is to continue to draw the landmass along the map border, instead of ending it immediately when reaching the border. CC3 will prevent you from drawing outside the map border, so you'll notice if you click outside the border, the line will follow the map boarder precisely.

The point to remember about CC3 is that you don't draw a dividing line, then fill the various part, but rather draw a complete object like a landmass on top of the ocean below. This is why you need to draw the complete landmass as explained above, since CC3 will automatically draw a line between your ending point and starting point, and fill the resulting object. Thus, you need to draw in such a way that your ending and starting point is very close together to get full control over the shape.
  • Thanks, that's very helpful!
  • Ok, so I have my landmass created, not how the heck do I fill it? I'm looking through the help and can't seem to find it (to tarded I guess). I'd just like to lay down the default terrain, can't seem to get it to do that though, everything's water.