Importing CC3 into Fractal

I have used CC2/CC3 for years and have a set of maps that I have spent hours and hours upon. I would like to expand my world and include temperature and weather and such. Fractal Terrains seems like to tool to do it, but I want to be able to import my CC3 maps into Fractal and then generate the rest of the world. Is this possible. There is a hint in the short Fractal manual that makes me think so, but I don't know how to access the full Fractal manual to find out. I don't want to buy Fractal just to be disappointed. Anybody have an answer for me?

Comments

• edited September 2009
    Thanks for your good question safrt. I am relatively new to ProFantasy's software and have been wondering about this too.

I've definitely been able to export from FTPro to CC3 for fairly basic whole-world maps but have not tried the other way around. You use the "File > Save as CC2 file" option and you can turn off/on the rainfall and temperature data as needed, as well as set the granularity of contours (for example, you might want 10 or 100 foot intervals) and a few other bits and pieces.

In FTPro there is a concept of importing a bitmap as an overlay. In the manual they use clouds as an example. I suppose you could do this:

1. Generate a random world that looks vaguely close to what you have in mind.
    2. Refine it using the raise and lower tools etc. in FTPro.
    3. Save your CC3 files as a bitmap and place them as an overlay in FTPro.
    4. Tidy up the connecting land-masses i.e. so they don't have coastlines with obvious square corners in them.

I think it would involve a lot of fiddling around. There would be other issues such as how to manage the continuity of colour and fonts, and you'd have to prepare the CC3 files by removing frames, compass roses etc. and possibly rescaling them. I'm not sure how to get around that.