Fractal Terrains -- Too Many Rivers

For some reason, I keep getting too many rivers on my FT maps. I create the world randomly, then Fill the Basins with Lakes, then Generate Rivers. I set the rivers to medium or fine (it doesn't seem to make a difference in the number of rivers), check Potential Flow and Save Overlay. When it's done rendering (which takes several minutes), I've got a world covered in rivers. Obviously, I could use the exlusion mask to prevent generation in certain areas, but that rather defeats the purpose of having it done randomly. Any suggestions?

Comments

• edited April 2008
    Well, first of all, thank you very much. I am just getting into the 'meat and potatoes' of FT, so I wasn't aware you could do this. I've been exporting to CC and doing this stuff by hand!!

I created a sample world, filled in the basins and told FT to generate rivers. You're right. The world appears to be rather river-intensive. It's as if the entire planet looked like south-central Africa or the lakes region of Minnesota. Still, it's an impressive sight.

edit: After playing around some more, I have also noticed that sometimes, horizontal banding shows up on the map after you execute the rivers command. These horizontal bands show up if the map is exported to CC2, so it isn't a visual glitch: Those lines are actually being added to the FT map.