Trace command on contours

I'm fairly new to overland maps using this software, I originally bought it and then DD3 to build dungeons for an online campaign. So I'm starting a new world map at 2000x2000 and have a land mass and I would like to contour the coastline from the Sea, Light to Sea, Darkest (with all of the colors in between as well) and maybe even darker if I can. My problem is that I see there is a Trace command and would like to know if there is a time saving way to contour the coastline.

Can anyone help?

Comments

• JimPJimP 🖼️ 280 images Cartographer
    edited March 2010
    I have never used the Trace command. Others around here use it lots.

For contours I use a bitmap fill for each range of altitudes and ocean depths.

Here is the method I came up with: Surface map color chart, and template

Note that to see all of the bitmap fills you see there, follow the link below the color chart for the bitmap fills and install them in your folder below 'path to\cc3\bitmaps\Tiles\custom' there should be 3 folders under there, for the sizes. Note that some folders have blanks in the folder filenames.
  • There is also the possibility of using several glow effects on the coast sheet.
  • Try looking up the Offset commands in the help menu. I don't have time at the moment to type up the directions but I think this will do what you want.
  • Posted By: ShessarTry looking up the Offset
    Not on a fractal coastline or you'll get a very hairy coast (found out the hard way).
    However you can draw a smooth line around the coast and then use offset to get the other.

Don't forget to add a blur effect to the sheet to dull the transition.
  • Awesome, thanks you two! I'll give it a try and let you know the results, probably post the pic so you can see how either turned out.
  • You're welcome. Have to try that myself...
  • Whoops, I guess I should say thank you 3 :)