[WIP] Community Atlas - Artemisia - Dworaguz region

I have decided to do a regional map just to keep me from going insane with my city maps (only 4 left in the pipeline).
I gave also decided to make this a WIP which I have never done before, with the possible exception on the city of Dun Fingolfin.
So I will post progress reports daily, just to see how I go.

First up, the region to map.

Comments

• Now my first post, with the various biomes laid out, and the rivers and towns as per the original map. I am using Mike Schley style, in keeping with mist of the Artemisia regions.
  • LoopysueLoopysue ProFantasy 🖼️ 39 images Cartographer
    I think you've got some flying rivers there, Quenten ;)
  • Yes. Over hill. Over dale.
  • Day 2.
    Added forest trees (more to come); Structure names, according to Statrippe map which this one overlaps a little; Fixed rivers so the don'y run over hill peaks.
    To do: Tidy up forests, name a few natural features, add more small rivers, add some more points of interest.
    Looking good :)

I wonder if it is ok to reroute some of those rivers just a wee tiny bit?

I'm looking at the one north of a ruined tower or castle that seems to run along contours around the hills rather than in the valleys.
  • Day 3.
    Added a few points of interest - a waterfall thundering down into a gorge (and underground river), a sulphurous geyser region, dwarven gates to dwarven halls, for a start.
    Fixed the forest and rivers more to my liking - taking notice of sue's comment above.
    Added cartouches.

Any further critiques warmly welcome. It may be ready for the Atlas tomorrow. I forgot how simple and quick regional maps are vis-a-vis cities LOL