Outlining with Walls

I may have made a rookie mistake and painted myself into a corner. I have drawn the layout of a relatively complex dungeon level, and I was hoping to trace the outside of the floors to create walls, but apparently there is no way to merge all the existing floors into a single whole.

Is there anything I can do, or do I resign myself to tracing the existing map over again manually?

Attached is a WiP of the layout so far. The floors are all on the same sheet and layer, for what that's worth. Any suggestions on how to speed up this process is most appreciated.

I'm really loving the program now that I've had some time to dig into it, and I've been very pleased with the welcome and helpful nature of this community. Thanks to everyone for being so welcoming to a total noob.

Comments

• MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    If I understand you correctly here, your floor is made up of multiple polygons.

There are basically to paths to take from here.

First one involves merging those floors into one using the technique described here.
    Then make a copy of the floor on the walls sheet and change the line width of the copy to 1 or 2 to create a hollow outlined shape.

The second path is to just draw around with the wall tool. Your dungeon isn't that big, and you can utilize snaps and modifiers to make sure the wall nodes are placed precisely at the corners. Shouldn't take more than a few minutes.
  • I decided to go with drawing around the existing floors. I started already and you're right - it's going pretty quickly.

But I will definitely dig into that tutorial and see if it might not help in the future. Thanks for the response!
  • edited July 2020