Advice needed for wall masking

Hi, I am fairly new to all of this, thanks to the humble bundle.

I am currently working along some of the live mapping videos on the pro fantasy youtube channel, in this case the "Livemapping: Dungeon and Cave" video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pOHM1ZaLeqc
The other tutorial that I used for wall masking was Dogtag's video.

My example map is identical to the livemapping one, and I stumbled over several issues where I am not entirely sure what I did wrong or how to fix it. The map size is 120 x 90 (imperial), I use the Dungeons of Schley template.

My first problem might be hardware related, I am not entirely sure. (Answered)
When I created the maskings for the cave walls my cursor started to seriously lag as long as I was within the image. Once I put my cursors onto the toolbar or until I set an "ending point of portion", it went back to normal. I tried the same method on a smaller, round and completely enclosed cave (15x15 feet in that case) and it worked perfectly fine without any lags. So I am a bit worried that this will occur again once I work on larger maps. But I was perfectly fine when doing the same tracing as Dogtag did in his tutorial video, hiding everything but the wall and masking layer. My rig should be fairly powerful too.

Video link to the above mentioned issue: https://imgur.com/a/CuiRMaf