Smooth path drawing artifacts

Hi,

I'm new to cc3+ and am trying to draw a labyrinth. I used the smooth path tool to draw the complicated curve, and then tried (using several methods) to give the line thickness (change line width, change pen thickness, change like draw tool to make it into a river, etc). No matter what I do, the curve just looks like a mess (I'm a programmer, and guess that it is some kind of winding rule issue when filling). As I zoom in and out, different sized triangles flicker in and out of existence or bars of color cross over the lines inverting them. I've attached an image demonstrating the problem.

Drawing a curve seems like a super basic operation, so I'm distressed that I ran into this kind of issue so quickly :(

Thanks in advance for your help!

Comments

• You crossed over the different lines. That is what it looks like to me.
  • MonsenMonsen Administrator 🖼️ 46 images Cartographer
    edited July 2020
    Did you happen to place some nodes very close to each other? When nodes gets too close, it can cause some weirdness with thick lines. Don't think I've seen as much issues as you seem to have accumulated here though.

If so, you can probably get rid of some of the nodes with the simplify command. (just type SIMPLIFY on the CC3+ command line) I don't know the scale of your map, so it is difficult to recommend a simplification distance, but try with a distance that is about a quarter of the radius of those curves and see if that helps. (You can measure distance in the map by using Info -> Distance)

You can also use the Info -> List command on your paths, you can then examine the node list for close nodes.

If you post the .fcw I might have a look at it for further analysis.